Staples' Guide to Choosing the Right Projector for Your Business and Home

Want to ace your next sales pitch? Host the neighbourhood's best backyard movie night ever? You're in the right place, because nothing beats a projector when you need to shine big and bright. But, with so many projector models to choose from, the hardest part may be deciding which one is right for you. So here's an easy guide to help find the model that best fits your needs.

1

Where Will You be Using the Projector?

Office/Classroom

Today's multimedia projectors pack high brightness so your colourful content powers through any ambient light in the room. Plus, the image dimension of widescreen business projectors is designed to match up with modern laptops, eliminating black bars andsqueezed content.

Shop Business Projectors

Recommended for:

  • Business meetings
  • Classrooms
  • Conferences
Installation Is Easy With The Right Projector Mount. Shop Projector Mounts

Home

Dedicated home theatre projectors feature dramatic colour and deep contrast for the ultimate cinematic experience. Many models are compatible with the latest 4K UHD and HDR content.

If you don't have a dedicated theatre room, don't despair. There are new high brightness models (2600 lumens+) with cinema-quality features so you can enjoy the immersive experience of the big screen anywhere at home.

Shop All Home Theatre Projectors

Recommended for:

  • Home theatre
  • Living room
  • Outdoor

Portable

Want to take your projector on the road? Portable models come in handy - and you don't need to sacrifice image quality. There are high-powered multimedia projectors thin enough to slip into your briefcase, but bright enough to project large, colourful images.

Shop Portable Multimedia Projectors

Recommended for:

  • Small/medium rooms
  • Personal use at home or on the road
2

Understanding Image Quality

Brightness

Bright Rooms and/or Large Image Sizes

Projector brightness is the light output of a projector that is measured in lumens. There are two important brightness specifications, White Brightness and Colour Brightness.

Both of these standards measure the average brightness from nine points on a screen. The difference is White Brightness measures how bright the projector is when it is projecting a solid white image, whereas Colour Brightness measures the brightness when it is projecting colours. If you only see one "Brightness" spec published for a projector model, it is usually the White Brightness rating, the Colour Brightness of the projector may be much lower.

How many lumens of Colour Brightness and White Brightness do you need? Professional installers use projection calculators that factor in many variables, including the throw distance, image size, ambient light in the room, and projected content. But for general guidance, just remember you need higher brightness for larger image sizes and higher ambient light.

A Great Screen Can Enhance Brightness and Image Quality. Shop Projector Screens
Large,
Bright Rooms

4000+ lumens

Classrooms / Meeting
Rooms

3000+ lumens

Dark Rooms / Dedicated
Home Theatres

1500 - 2500 lumens

Contrast Ratio

Deep Blacks in Dark Rooms

Contrast ratio is the difference in brightness between the brightest and darkest parts in an image. The greater the difference, the higher the contrast. If you take the brightest white on a screen and the darkest black and compare the luminosity, you will get the contrast ratio. For example, a 1000:1 contrast ratio means that the brightest white is 1000x brighterthan the darkest black.

With business projectors, lumen output is most important with contrast being a secondary concern. Home theatre projectors are the exact opposite-contrast is especially important for the home theatre, where ambient light could make it challenging to see rich cinematic content if there is not a significant enough difference between whites and blacks. Therefore, a high contrast ratio means the projected image will have incredibly rich, crystal-clear detail.

Resolution

Sharp Details and Crisp Text

Resolution is simply the number of pixels that the projector can display. It can have a big impact on image quality, especially if you plan to project detailed charts or high-resolution photos or videos. The higher the resolution of the projector, the sharper the details will be - especially as the projected image size gets larger.

Business and Education
Resolutions

Home Cinema
Resolutions

Business/
Education
SVGA
540p+
XGA
720p+
WXGA
Widescreen
720p+
WUXGA
Widescreen
1080p+
Resolution Low High
Home
Cinema
HD720p
Widescreen
Full HD
1080p
Widescreen
UHD 4K
Class
Widescreen
3

Setup and Connectivity Features

Connections and Networking

There are many types of projector connections, including USB, VGA, Component, HDMI, Display Port, and wireless. Many connection types are cross or backward compatible using an adapter. Projectors with an MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link®) HDMI® port let you stream HD content directly from MHL-enabled smartphones, tablets and streaming devices.

Easy Setup with Sound: Built-In Speakers

If you plan to play a lot of video content but won't be permanently installing your projector into an A/V system, built-in speakers will make setup a lot faster.

Image Position and Adjustment

Projectors with keystone correction and lens shift give you more control over image alignment and make using your projector effortless.

Throw Distance and Positioning

The throw ratio of a projector tells you how far away from the screen the projector needs to be to give you a certain image size. Short-Throw projectors generally refer to a distance between 3 to 8 feet away from projector to screen, and Ultra Short-Throw projectors refer to a distance between 0 to 4 feet away from projector to screen, so you can project a large image even when the projector is positioned close to the screen.

Ready to put what you've learned into practice? Start shopping.

Office/Classroom

Shop Business Projectors

GUIDE DE BUREAU EN GROS POUR Choisir le meilleur projecteur pour votre entreprise et votre domicile

Vous voulez optimiser votre prochaine présentation de vente ou organiser la meilleure soirée cinéma sous les étoiles avec vos voisins? Vous êtes au bon endroit, car il n’y a rien de mieux qu’un projecteur pour en mettre plein la vue. Pourtant, avec autant de modèles sur le marché, le plus difficile, c'est peut-être de faire le bon choix. Voici un guide convivial qui vous aidera à trouver le projecteur le mieux adapté à vos besoins.

1

Où utiliserez-vous le projecteur?

Pour le bureau ou la salle de classe

Les projecteurs multimédias d'aujourd'hui offrent une luminosité très élevée pour mieux faire ressortir les couleurs de votre contenu, quel que soit l’éclairage ambiant de la pièce. Mieux encore, le format d’image des projecteurs commerciaux panoramiques est conçu pour s’harmoniser avec celle des blocs-notes les plus récents de façon à éliminer les barres noires et le contenu comprimé.

ALLER VOIR LES PROJECTEURS COMMERCIAUX

Usages recommandés:

  • Réunions d’affaires
  • Salles de classe
  • Colloques
L’installation est facile avec le bon support de fixation. ALLER VOIR LES SUPPORTS DE FIXATION

Pour le domicile

Les projecteurs réservés au cinéma maison offrent des couleurs spectaculaires et un contraste élevé pour une expérience cinématographique optimale. Bon nombre de modèles sont compatibles avec le plus récent contenu 4K UHD et HDR.

Si vous n’avez pas de salle de cinéma maison, pas de souci. Les nouveaux modèles à luminosité élevée (2 600 lumens ou plus) sont dotés de fonctionnalités de qualité cinéma vous permettant de profiter de l’expérience immersive du grand écran où que vous soyez dans la maison.

ALLER VOIR TOUS LES PROJECTEURS DE CINÉMA MAISON

Usages recommandés:

  • Cinéma maison
  • Salon
  • Extérieur

Portatifs

Vous voulez que votre projecteur vous suive sur la route? Rien de plus pratique qu’un modèle portatif – sans devoir sacrifier la qualité d’image. Il y a des projecteurs multimédias très puissants qui sont assez minces pour se glisser dans votre mallette, mais assez lumineux pour projeter de grandes images colorées.

ALLER VOIR LES PROJECTEURS MULTIMÉDIAS PORTATIFS

Usages recommandés:

  • Les pièces de petites ou moyennes dimensions
  • Usage personnel à domicile ou sur la route
2

Comprendre la qualité d’image

Luminosité

Les pièces bien éclairées et (ou) les images de grand format

On entend par luminosité la sortie lumineuse d’un projecteur, qui se mesure en lumens. Il faut retenir deux valeurs de luminosité importantes : la luminosité blanche et la luminosité couleur.

Ces deux valeurs mesurent la luminosité moyenne à partir de neuf points sur un écran. La différence entre les deux : la luminosité blanche mesure le degré de luminosité d’un projecteur qui projette une image blanche, tandis que la luminosité couleur mesure le degré de luminosité d’un projecteur qui projette des images en couleur. Si vous ne voyez qu’une seule valeur indiquée sur un modèle, il s'agit le plus souvent de la luminosité blanche. La luminosité couleur risque d’être beaucoup plus faible.

Quelles valeurs de lumens vous faut-il pour la luminosité couleur et la luminosité blanche? Les installateurs professionnels se servent de calculatrices de projection qui tiennent compte de nombreuses variables, notamment la distance focale, le format d'image, la lumière ambiante et le contenu projeté. À titre indicatif, rappelez-vous que plus votre format d'image est grand et la lumière ambiante est intense, plus la valeur de luminosité doit être élevée.

Un écran d'excellente qualité peut améliorer la luminosité et la qualité d’image.

ALLER VOIR LES ÉCRANS DE PROJECTEUR
Grandes pièces, bien éclairées

4 000 lumens ou plus

Salles de classe ou de réunion

3 000 lumens ou plus

Pièces sombres ou réservées au cinéma maison

1 500 – 2 500 lumens

Rapport de contraste

Les noirs profonds dans les pièces sombres

Le rapport de contraste est la différence de luminosité entre les parties les plus lumineuses et les plus sombres d’une image. Plus la différence est grande, plus le contraste est prononcé. En prenant le blanc le plus lumineux et le noir le plus profond sur l’écran et en comparant la luminosité, on obtient le rapport de contraste. Par exemple, un rapport de contraste 1 000 : 1 signifie que le blanc le plus lumineux est 1 000 fois plus clair que le noir le plus profond.

Pour les projecteurs commerciaux, la valeur de lumens est celle qui compte le plus, le rapport de contraste étant secondaire. Pour les projecteurs de cinéma maison, c’est tout le contraire. Le contraste est primordial là où la lumière ambiante peut poser problème si la différence entre les blancs et les noirs n'est pas assez grande pour voir le riche contenu cinématographique. Par conséquent, si le rapport de contraste est élevé, l'image projetée est d’une richesse et d’une netteté exceptionnelles.

Résolution

Des détails précis et du texte net

La résolution, c'est tout simplement le nombre de pixels qu’un projecteur peut afficher. Cette valeur peut avoir un impact important sur la qualité d’image, surtout si vous voulez projeter des tableaux détaillés ou des photos ou vidéos à haute résolution. Plus la résolution du projecteur est élevée, plus les détails sont nets, en particulier lorsque l’image projetée s’agrandit.

Résolutions – entreprise et enseignement

Résolution pour le cinéma maison

Entreprise/Enseignement SVGA
540p+
XGA
720p+
WXGA
Panoramique
720p+
WUXGA
Panoramique
1080p+
Résolution Faible Élevée
Cinéma maison HD720p
Panoramique
HD intégrale 1080p
Panoramique
UHD 4K
Panoramique
3

Caractéristiques de configuration et de connectivité

Connexions et réseaux

Il y a divers types de connexions pour les projecteurs, notamment USB, VGA, composante, HDMI, port d’affichage et sans fil. Bon nombre de ces connexions sont compatibles entre elles ou rétro-compatibles au moyen d’un adaptateur. Les projecteurs munis d’un port MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link®) HDMI® vous permettent de diffuser en continu du contenu HD directement à partir de votre téléphone intelligent, votre tablette ou votre appareil de diffusion en continu compatibles avec MHL.

Configuration facile avec sonorisation: haut-parleurs intégrés

Si vous comptez projeter beaucoup de contenu vidéo, sans couloir installer votre projecteur en permanence dans un système audiovisuel, les haut-parleurs intégrés vous simplifieront grandement la tâche.

Positionnement et réglage d’image

Les projecteurs dotés de la correction du trapèze et du déplacement de la lentille permettent un meilleur contrôle de l’alignement de l’image, facilitant ainsi l'utilisation de l’appareil.

Distance focale et positionnement

Le rapport de projection indique la distance qu’il doit y avoir entre l’écran et le projecteur pour obtenir des images d’un certain format. Les projecteurs à focale courte offrent une distance variant entre 0,9 m et 2,4 m entre le projecteur et l’écran, tandis que les projecteurs à focale ultracourte offrent une distance variant entre 0 m et 1,2 m, de manière à vous permettre de projeter une grande image même si le projecteur est installé tout près de l’écran.

Prêt à mettre en pratique ce que vous avez appris? Commencez à magasiner.

Pour le bureau ou la salle de classe

ALLER VOIR LES PROJECTEURS COMMERCIAUX